Originating in the 16th century, stagecoach travel occurred in 10-15 mile ‘stages’, giving need to a network of coaching inns. Horses were changed and travellers could eat, drink and rest overnight. In 1706, the first official stagecoach route was established.
The Ffolkes was built by Sir Martin Browne Ffolkes, the first Baronet of Hillington (1749–1821) who was High Sheriff of Norfolk and the sitting MP for King’s Lynn. Sir Martin used to hold court in our main building and used the cellar as a jail!
We took over the reins at The Ffolkes in the Summer of 2016 and began our journey of refurbishment, opening again in May 2017.
Our goal was simple, to return The Ffolkes to its former coaching inn roots; with portraits of notable locals, pewterware, top hats and coaching accessories evoking those fanciful days of intrepid travel. We offer a great range of facilities to passers by: restaurant and bar, coffee lounge, Ffolkes play (both inside and out), 24 bedrooms, a stunning event space, weddings and functions and a little pie shop for a bit of Ffolkes to take away.
The staff were very friendly, food was good and the play area was fabulous. We will definitely be heading back soon. 5 stars!
Amazing venue, it's stunning. Great staff, location and superb for a wedding.